About the Association of Tribal Archives, Libraries, and Museums

The Association of Tribal Archives, Libraries, and Museums (ATALM) is a not-for-profit educational organization that serves the needs of those who work to protect and advance indigenous cultures. Its activities are supported, in part, by a Cooperative Agreement with the Institute of Museum and Library Services, a federal agency.

The Association of Tribal Archives, Libraries, and Museums:

- Raises public awareness of Indigenous cultural institutions through an international network of partners, both Indigenous and non-Indigenous;
- Provides culturally responsive services and programs through regional and national training events, web resources, and individual consultations;
- Partners with national organizations to incorporate Indigenous perspectives into programs and services; and
- Serves as an advocate for Indigenous cultural institutions with tribal leaders, funders, and government officials.

VISION

ATALM will ensure that every Native Nation has its own archive, library, museum, and historic preservation office to house, protect, and advance cultural heritage.

GUIDING PRINCIPLES

- To operate from a position of integrity and accountability.
- To be effective and passionate advocates for the cultural sovereignty of all Indigenous nations.
- To be inclusive, respectful, and welcoming of everyone.
- To strive for excellence in everything we do.

Governing Board

Walter Echo-Hawk, Chair Jim Enote, CEO, Colorado Plateau Foundation Susan Feller, President/CEO Mary Ellen Meredith, Treasurer, Board Chair Emerita, Cherokee National Historical Society Rick West, Jr., President/CEO, Autry National Center of the American West

Advisory Council

Claudia Arnold, Vice Chancellor, Pepperdine University Jeanne Brako, Curator (Retired), Fort Lewis College Jameson Brant, Coordinator, RBC Aboriginal Training Program in Museum Practices, Canadian Museum of History Kevin Gover, Director, National Museum of the American Indian

Sven Haakanson, Associate Professor and Curator, Burke Museum, University of Washington

LaDonna Harris, President, Americans for Indian Opportunity John Haworth, Senior Executive Emeritus, NMAI NY, Smithsonian Institution

Traci Morris, Director, American Indian Policy Institute, Arizona State University Jennifer O'Neal, University Historian and Archivist, University of Oregon Libraries Lotsee Patterson, Professor Emerita, University of Oklahoma James Pepper Henry, Director, American Indian Cultural Center & Museum Tim Tingle, Author, Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma Della Warrior, Director, New Mexico Museum of Indian Arts and Culture

Staff

Susan Feller, President/CEO Melissa Brodt, Director of Programs